Why we should all be furious with fitness wearables

So much data, so little use

Sourced through Scoop.it from: www.techradar.com

My argument spelled out against the current spate of wearable designs in this current article:  “It is me realising that something is really wrong with wearables.  Something happened to me on a recent recovery run in Hyde Park, and it irritated me to the point I deleted this week’s piece to write about it.  I was trying out Moov’s ‘Running Efficiency’ setup (Moov being an ankle strap that monitors your stride for things like impact, lean, stride length etc.) when I was consumed with anger.  Not at the Moov system itself, which is more than half-decent, but at the fact fitness tech fans are being short changed. The app was telling me to shift my weight about a bit to get a better stride, when I was sure that I had – and I started wondering if it would be better if there were more sensors in the soles of my shoes.  And that’s when the fury lit, the straw that broke my CamelBak. Regular readers will remember when I outlined one of my favourite bits of technology, the Nike Lunar TR1+ training system, from way back in 2010.  These had just those sensors, four placed around the sole that could monitor footfall or check on how you’re performing a circuit workout. Five years ago. Half a decade.  The reason this was the tipping point was it was the second time in a week I was stymied in my attempts to improve running through tech thanks to not being able to use one service with another.  I’ve been trying out SmashRun, the service that has more stats in it than anything I’ve ever seen. Like most runners, I love to pore over training results, see where I’m doing better or worse, and try to use that science to get better.”

See on Scoop.itWearable Tech and the Internet of Things (Iot)

Leave a Reply

